Andrew J. Daley

QOQMS – University of Strathclyde – Glasgow

Andrew grew up in Auckland, New Zealand, where he completed his Masters degree in Physics in 2002. He received his PhD from the University of Innsbruck in 2005, working in the group of Peter Zoller, on simulation and manipulation of cold atoms in optical lattices. He held an assistant position at the University of Innsbruck and then a senior scientist position at the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information of the Austrian Academy of Sciences until December 2010. In January 2011 he began a faculty position at the University of Pittsburgh, and in October 2013 he was appointed as a full professor at the University of Strathclyde.

Robin Kaiser

Institut Non Linéaire de Nice – Valbonne

Robin Kaiser studied at the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Paris (France) and did his PhD in the group of Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, under the supervision of Alain Aspect (1990). He spent one year at Harvard University in the group of Gerald Gabrielse and was hired as a scientist at CNRS in 1991. He is now leading experiments on light scattering by cold atoms, including disorder induced localization, cooperative scattering, random lasing and pattern formation. He is also investigating photon condensation, Lévy flights and intensity correlation techniques in astrophysics.

 Mauro Paternostro 

QTeQ – Queen’s University Belfast

Mauro Paternostro received his Ph.D. from Queen’s University Belfast (QUB) for his work on theoretical quantum information processing.  After having been a research fellow at the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, University of Vienna, and at QUB, he was awarded in 2008 an EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellowship and appointed Lecturer at QUB, where he became Reader (2010) and Full Professor (2013). He co-leads the Quantum Technology group at QUB, where he works on foundations of quantum mechanics and quantum information processing.  He is strongly interested and has significantly contributed to non-equilibrium quantum thermodynamics, quantum optomechanics and the coherent manipulation of open mesoscopic quantum systems. Honours include a Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellowship and an Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship for experienced researchers. He is the Vice-Chair of the COST Action Quantum Technologies in Space and is an advocate of the development of quantum-empowered technologies for space applications.  Mauro has attracted about 7000 citations (h-index=40) so far, and funding in excess of 10M euros from a number of funding bodies, including the UK EPSRC, the EU FP7 & Horizon2020, the Royal Society, the COST Action, the Templeton Foundation, and the Leverhulme Trust. 

William D. Phillips

National Institute of Standards and Technology – Gaithersburg, Maryland

William D. Phillips received his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1976;  after two years as a postdoctoral researcher at MIT, he joined NIST (then the National Bureau of Standards) and initiated a new research program to cool a gas of atoms with laser light.  He is currently leader of NIST’s Laser Cooling and Trapping Group and is a Fellow of the Joint Quantum Institute, a cooperative research organization of NIST and the University of Maryland that is devoted to the study of quantum coherent phenomena.  His research group has been responsible for developing some of the main techniques now used for laser-cooling and cold-atom experiments in laboratories around the world.  Their achievements include:  the first electromagnetic trapping of neutral atoms;  reaching unexpectedly low laser-cooling temperatures, within a millionth of a degree of Absolute Zero;  the confinement of atoms in optical lattices;  and coherent atom-optical manipulation of atomic-gas Bose-Einstein condensates.  Atomic fountain clocks, based on the work of this group, are now the primary standards for world timekeeping.  Among the group’s current research directions are the use of ultra-cold atoms for quantum information processing and quantum simulation of important condensed-matter problems.

 Dr. Phillips is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  He is a Fellow and Honorary Member of the Optical Society of America, a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Pontifical Academy of Sciences, and a corresponding member of the Mexican Academy of Sciences.  In 1997, Dr. Phillips shared the Nobel Prize in Physics “for development of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light”.

Leticia Tarruell

ICFO – The Institute of Photonic Sciences – Barcelona

Leticia Tarruell did her master and PhD studies on experimental studies of bosonic and fermionic lithium, in the group of Christophe Salomon at Laboratoire Kastler Brossel in Paris. As a postdoc, she moved to Tilman Esslinger’s group at ETH Zurich. There, she worked on Fermi gases in optical lattices, studying among other topics the merging of Dirac points in artificial graphene and the emergence of magnetic correlations in Fermi-Hubbard systems. Since 2013, she is a Junior Group Leader at ICFO in Barcelona. With her group, she has recently observed for the first time quantum liquid droplets stabilized by quantum fluctuations in mixtures of Bose-Einstein condensates. Besides studying the associated liquid-to-gas transition, her group is also exploring the connection existing between these liquid droplets and high-order optical solitons in non-linear media.